Demo site. Reviews are synthesized from public sources and codes were observed on brand sites. Not for publishing.
GoSavify

Amazon affiliate program

Does Amazon have an affiliate program? Yes. Amazon Associates is Amazon's own program, free to join, and it pays 0% to 10% depending on the product category, plus fixed bounties for sign-ups such as Prime and Audible.

Checked on the brand's own page Retail & marketplaces

Amazon affiliate program at a glance

Program
Amazon Associates
Network
In-house (Amazon Associates Central)
Commission
0%–10% by category: 10% luxury beauty and Amazon Explore; 4.5% books, kitchen, automotive; 4% apparel, shoes, jewelry, Amazon devices; 3% toys, furniture, home, pets, beauty, sports; 1% grocery, health, video games; 0% gift cards
Cookie
24 hours (widely reported; not stated on the rate page)
Other terms
Fixed bounties: $12 Prime trial or paid membership; $20 Audible trial; $15 Amazon Business sign-up; $3 Kindle Unlimited, Music Unlimited
US searches
10K–100K a month for "amazon affiliate program"

The key terms below are published by the brand or its program page.

Is the Amazon affiliate program worth it?

Yes for most new sites, because approval is easy and almost every reader already has an Amazon account. The catch is the low rate in popular categories and the short cookie, so it pays best when you have plenty of traffic or write about higher-rate categories such as luxury beauty, kitchen or fashion. Many publishers start with Amazon and add brand programs once they know what their readers buy.

How much you can earn

A $100 kitchen order at 4.5% earns $4.50; the same $100 spent on grocery at 1% earns $1. A Prime free-trial sign-up pays a flat $12.

What you'll promote

Amazon covers almost every category, so the program works for any niche. Books, kitchen tools, Amazon devices and fashion pay better than grocery or video games, and Prime or Audible sign-ups pay fixed bounties on top of product sales.

Who it suits

Almost any content site that recommends products, because Amazon sells nearly everything and shoppers already trust its checkout. It works best for buying guides and comparisons where readers click through to a specific item.

Content ideas for Amazon

  • Best kitchen gadgets under $50
  • Kindle vs. Kindle Paperwhite compared
  • Gifts for new parents with Prime delivery

What to watch out for

  • Rates are low in big categories such as grocery, health and video games, so traffic volume matters more than per-sale value.
  • The tracking window is short (24 hours is widely reported), so readers need to buy soon after clicking.
  • New accounts are closed if they don't make 3 qualifying sales within 180 days, a rule many new sites run into.

How to join the Amazon affiliate program

  1. Go to https://affiliate-program.amazon.com/ and create an account.
  2. Describe your website or channels; Amazon reviews applications itself.
  3. Once approved, create links or codes from the dashboard and read the program rules on exclusions and disclosure.

Amazon affiliate program questions

Does Amazon have an affiliate program?

Yes. Amazon Associates is Amazon's own program, free to join, and it pays 0% to 10% depending on the product category, plus fixed bounties for sign-ups such as Prime and Audible.

How much does the Amazon affiliate program pay?

0%–10% by category: 10% luxury beauty and Amazon Explore; 4.5% books, kitchen, automotive; 4% apparel, shoes, jewelry, Amazon devices; 3% toys, furniture, home, pets, beauty, sports; 1% grocery, health, video games; 0% gift cards

How long is the Amazon affiliate cookie?

24 hours (widely reported; not stated on the rate page)

Which network runs the Amazon affiliate program?

In-house (Amazon Associates Central)

Is the Amazon affiliate program free to join?

Joining is free on the brand's program and on most networks. Awin asks new publishers for a small deposit that it refunds later.

Sources

  1. https://affiliate-program.amazon.com/help/node/topic/GRXPHT8U84RAYDXZ

Figures marked third-party come from affiliate network listings and directories. Terms change; the program's own terms decide what you are paid. How we check programs.

Similar retail & marketplaces programs

  • Walmart1%–4% by category, 3 days cookie
  • TargetUp to 8%, 7 days cookie
  • TikTok ShopSet by each seller, In-app cookie
  • TemuShare of new users' orders, 24 hours cookie